MISA Malawi Media Awards 2018

Media Awards 2018 – General entry Information

MISA Malawi Annual Media Awards

Promoting media professionalism and journalistic excellence

MISA Malawi’s media awards honour journalists whose writing reflects great effort and initiative and also demonstrates high levels of skill and professionalism. In addition, the awards recognise stories that change lives and inspire the journalism sector, and the country, to grow.

MISA Malawi has been giving out these awards every year since 2003 as part of celebrations to mark World Press Freedom Day celebrated on May 3.

Here’s what you need to know to enter the 2018 media awards:

Conditions of entry

Entries must have been published or aired between 1st April 2017 and 31st March 2018.

Self-submitting individuals can only send a maximum of two entries per category.

MISA Malawi members of staff, members of the MISA Malawi National Governing Council and members of the Media Awards judging committee are not eligible to enter the awards.

Closing dates

Self-submitted, individual entries must be received by March 31, 2018.

Nominated and institutional entries must be received by April 30, 2018.

Submit an entry

All entries should be posted or hand-delivered to the following address:

Secretary for the Awards Committee
MISA Malawi Secretariat
Onions Complex Off Paul Kagame Highway
Area 4
P.O. Box 30463
Lilongwe 3

Nominate individuals or media houses

Lifetime Achiever, Talk Show Host of the Year, Blogger of the Year and Ralph Tenthani Columnist of the Year can be nominated by any paid-up MISA Malawi member.

The entry should be accompanied by the reason for the nomination, along with samples of the journalist’s published work. The nomination should be emailed to misaawards@gmail.com, copied to info@misamalawi.org, by April 30, 2018.

The Lifetime Achiever Award is governed by specific rules and regulations. You can read more about them here

Media House of the Year Award guidelines

Nominations for these awards will be open between 15th and 30th April 2018.

Media outlets are free to nominate themselves for this award in line with the rules and regulations governing the the Media House of the Year Award, which are written out in full here.

Award categories 2018

i. Print and electronic

  • Investigative Journalist of the Year

  • Business and Economics Journalist of the Year

  • Democracy and Good Governance Journalist of the Year

  • Agriculture Journalist of the Year

  • Red Ribbon/HIV Journalist of the Year

  • Education Journalist of the Year

  • Human Rights Journalist of the Year

  • Arts Journalist of the Year

  • Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Journalist of the Year

  • Safety and Security Journalist of the Year

  • Tourism Journalist of the Year

  • ICT Journalist of the Year

  • Hennox Mazengera Financial Journalist of the Year

  • Paediatric and Adolescence HIV Journalists of the Year

  • Public Infrastructure Management Journalist of the Year

  • Health Research Reporting Journalist of the Year

  • Reporting Supply Chain Management of Essential Medicines of the Year

ii. Combined print and electronic

  • Sports Journalist of the Year
  • Chichewa Journalist of the Year
  • Photo Journalist of the Year

iii. Electronic only

  • Best Farm Radio Programme of the Year

  • Community Radio of the Year

  • Talk Show Host of the Year

MISA Malawi will also present awards for the following categories:

  • Overall Winner Award

  • Lifetime Achiever (nominated by MISA Malawi members)

  • Blogger of the Year (nominated by MISA Malawi members)

  • Ralph Tenthani Columnist of the Year (nominated by MISA Malawi members

  • Media House of the Year Print (nominated by MISA Malawi members)

  • Media House of the Year Electronic – Radio (nominated by MISA Malawi members)

  • Media House of the Year Electronic – Television (nominated by MISA Malawi members)

  • Media House of the Year Electronic – Online (nominated by MISA Malawi members)

Changes to previous award categories and prizes

The 2018 media awards include two new categories:

  • Health Research Reporting Journalist of the Year, which promotes health research reporting in Malawi, sponsored by Malawi-Liverpool Wellcome TrustBest.
  • Community Radio of the Year, which recognises the best performing community radio station in the country, sponsored by MISA Malawi.

The following category has been amended:

  • Reporting Supply Chain Management of Essential Medicines Journalist of the Year is replacing the previously awarded Reporting Medicines Journalist of the Year as this better defines the scope of operations of the award sponsor, Central Medical Stores Trust, namely selection, procurement, quality assurance, warehousing, sale, distribution and rational use of essential medicines.

Please note:

The Overall Winner Award 2018 will receive scholarship at UNICAF University to pursue further studies (the level of which is dependent on the winner’s level of education).

Judging criteria

The MISA Malawi awards committee will evaluate entries based on the following:

  • Impact

  • Consistency

  • Courage

  • Investigation

  • Gender awareness

  • Analysis

Contact us
If you have any enquiries, please call the following numbers: +265 (0)1 754 310 or +265 (0) 999 327 311.

Last updated 15 April 2018